Post the Thirty-First: In Which There Are Twins!

Hello, Gentle Reader. Today’s entry takes place many moons ago, as per usual. Fun fact, though: I am currently wearing the hat that I made yesterday. It has a veil: a stealth veil. You simply pull the pin, and a curtain of gauze and lace covers up your face, so that you can escape, in a veil emergency. Here’s a photo, but with the veil up, because you can see the detailing better: Image At any rate, Ex-Husband’s parents were quite young when they adopted him and his brother, K. They had split when the boys were about 12 and 13, I believe; I’m hazy on the details, and it’s incidental, anyway. Their mother had remarried, and now, years later, was pregnant. Ex-Husband and his brother wanted to go up to the hospital to see her, the day she gave birth, and also see some old friends up in the town where she lived. I offered to drive. We met their old friends at a skating rink, and I had to beg off, due to a panic attack. I sat out, back rigid against the locker-wall, waiting for them to be done – I was very tense (I’m not that great at meeting new people). I was glad to be able to meet Ex-Husband’s oldest friend, though, and a few of his exes. After standing around awkwardly while the boys had heart-felt reunions, we drove one of the exes home – such a pleasant ride! Not awkward at all! – and grabbed some dinner. Then, it was time to trek to the hospital.

Hospital

Now, I had intended to walk the boys up, and just wait in the hall – it was getting quite late, and their mother had just given birth, for fuck’s sake! However, for my ex-husband, that would not do. He insisted that I meet his mother for the first time immediately after she’d given birth – to twins. She was very gracious about it, as was his stepfather. I’m not much of a one for babies, but the twins – one boy, one girl – were significantly more adorable than Sir Winston Churchill.

Awwwww

Awwwww

And that, dear reader, is how I came to meet my in-laws.

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Adventures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

