Post the Thirty-Eighth: Prior To The Tacomapocalypse

Gentle Reader, I am in a quandary.

I agreed to portray the corpse of St. Valentine for the art opening, tomorrow – Tacomapocalypse III: Staying Alive. I’ve been plugging it pretty heavily, all over the Internet, and in person.

Tacpox

Like This!

All I have to do is give some opening remarks, introduce the studio, the musicians, vaguely wave my hand at the venue owner and his wares, and announce the costume contest, which I will later have to judge.

Funny word, that. Judge.

Some of my relatives are coming, for reasons best known to themselves, despite the excruciating distance, and the fact that probably they will not enjoy the show, or my friends, or approve of the Mix, which is next door and where the after-party is, and on and on. Their approval isn’t necessary, but I am cowering in fear of their judgement, nonetheless.

Relatives

Also, I’m judging myself. I’m sitting here, trying to write thematically appropriate jokes, and I am pretty sure that I am the least funny person to ever draw air into his lungs. That is, I can occasionally quip with the best, but sitting down and writing jokes? Not my strongest area. There’s a lot of scope here for hilarity – Zombies! Apocalypse! Valentine’s Day is Utter Crap! – but it’s just not coming together for me.

At least the costume and makeup are sorted to my half-satisfaction. Crisp linen toga, red fringed cloak – the fourth century is easy. However, essentially, it’s held together with pins. I have it arranged to cover as much of my body as possible, given my issues in that area, but a toga will always be a toga, and expose a little more than I’m comfortable with, and in my mind, while I’m delivering my poorly written remarks, it is going to slip off of my body like the leaves of fall. In front of my aunt, uncle, and cousins, who are are devout, and will likely be appalled by my portrayal of a saint.

Pictures-of-Saint-Valentine

Wish us luck! No post tomorrow, for certain, but I’ll let you know how it goes on Saturday, with luck.

Update!

A rather excellent supper removed my doubts, and my writer’s block – to a certain extent. I’ve got my opening remarks sorted. Hurrah!

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Drama, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

