Post the Thirty-Fifth: Catching Up

Despite the proposed drama, Gentle Reader, the funeral was actually quite an affair, as far as these things go. We’ve always held, in our family, that one should have the deceased’s favorite things at the service. I am happy to report that Uncle George was quite a gourmand. The food! Superlative. Behind the  open bar, a portrait of Uncle George hung – it was painted by a friend, years ago, evidently, and none of the extended family had seen it. It captured his spirit exactly.

Angry Ghost

Whoops! Unfortunate Choice of Words

I was unable to make the dinner I was supposed to go to, and still haven’t heard back about possibly rescheduling. Ms. Capere is quite busy, between school, work, and having a muffin – and I think that she’s in the midst of moving, as well. Seeing the old beau was… delightful, and just what I needed.

Mares eat Beaus, and Does eat Beaus, and my old flame eats ivy

Mares eat Beaus, and Does eat Beaus, and my old flame eats ivy

On my return to Teaberry, I learned that one of the household has relocated. Given the friction on all sides, I think that this is the best for all concerned. Hopefully M. will be able to use the resources at her disposal to her advantage. We had a lovely dinner upon my return – we had a variety of dips, spreads, meat, fish, and cheese, and sauces, and a variety of crackers, crostini, and toast – and sliders hot from the stove, courtesy of the Colonel. Finding various pleasing combinations to everyone’s tastes made a game of our supper, and I have to say that my favorite was probably the lobster pate/egg/horseradish/pickled garlic clove/ with lemon. I know, it sounds a little overpowering, but it was an absolute symphony of flavor.

Today, I worked on Veronica, the piece that I have in the art show, coming up.

Ver2

The opening is next Friday, and while I only have the one piece, I’m also MCing. At any rate, while I was trying to achieve the exact shades of putrefaction necessary to my girl, the Colonel was working on one of his paintings, and S. was keeping us company on the veranda, between splitting wood. It was a lovely, productive day, for all of us.

There. You’ve been updated, darlings. I’ll try to have a real post next time.

Also, THIS!Image

//

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Adventures, Updates and Other Housekeeping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

