Post the Thirty-Ninth: In Which There Is Opportunity

!!!!!

Ahem. Gentle Reader, I believe that I can compose myself enough to actually type more than a single character. First I will discuss the events of yesterday – the opening event of the show, and all its attendant ups and downs – and then I will reveal something terribly exciting.

Thursday, we knew that we had to make our final pre-show preparations, as we would be leaving quite early in the morning, and not be back to Teaberry all day. This was accomplished, but, as it turns out, come one a.m., no one had managed to get to sleep. The next morning, as we appropriately shambled towards the coffee-maker, I think that I was the winner – I had gotten the most amount of sleep, at five hours.

Zombie

We poured ourselves full of coffee, and hit the road – S. didn’t come with us, as planned, because of his health issues. This was one of the smaller setbacks of the day; not to discount the help he would have provided, but more as an illustration of scope of the various disasters that befell us on both Thursday and Friday. Being a man down didn’t phase us, is the point, because so much else was going awry.

I’m actually going to gloss over the many devastations that occurred in this period. There were too many, and as we underworld show folk know, you have to wind people up to breaking point  to make such a production achieve its potential.

Showfolk

Oh, sod it. I can’t describe the show just now, I’m too excited about today’s news. Suffice it to say that when the county art commissioner showed up and entered a piece in the show, we networked like nobody’s business. I had a breakdown in the bathroom trying to put together my character, St. Valentine, because costume and makeup were just not coming together. The show was a triumph; the venue sold out of both food and several of the craft beers that are made in-house before the halfway point in the exhibition, some of my family came and it was actually not uncomfortable and they talked to people and it wasn’t that weird, actually, and on and on. It’s been so long since I’ve been able to work a room, living out here at Teaberry – I was in heaven. Except for the inevitable breakdowns. The Colonel – the most high-strung of our circle, generally – was calm, and in control all evening. Did I say it was a triumph? The show was a triumph.

Success

Also, folks, I TOTALLY GOT AN ONLINE WRITING GIG THAT TOTALLY PAYS MONEY. That sentence implies that perhaps it isn’t that wise of a decision, but I’m excited, and I can be erudite when I’m not bouncing about like a terrier. Alright, it’s not creative writing or anything; it’s just ad-copy and reviews and things of that kidney, but words course from my brain through my fingers into the keyboard and are somehow transmuted by the Internet into money in my bank. BEST ALCHEMY EVER.

Coffers

The catch is that I’ll have to do it for around eight hours a day to make it worth my while. Almost like, you know, a job.

I’m going to go swoon now. I’ll try to post pictures and a more thorough description of yesterday’s show when I’m a bit less excited, I promise.

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Adventures, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

