Post the Fifty-Eighth: In Which Our Hero Learns To Fight

Two posts in one day, Gentle Reader? I was surprised, too. Don’t worry, this one’s short.

At any rate, you may remember J. from Post the Thirteenth. In our hey-day, we’d boffer-fight all the time. For those of you not in the know, or who have lives, boffer-fighting involves padded swords, as practice for fighting with rattan ( a sort of bamboo – not padded) or live steel (absolutely no padding. Quite the opposite, in fact). J. was into it, and not only was I a little in love with him, I hero worshipped him. Therefore, for absolute ages, I begged him to teach me how to fight.

Fighting

Eventually, he gave in. He introduced me to like-minded friends, and we’d practice constantly. The trouble was that I wasn’t very good at it.

J. tried everything. Most frequently, we’d climb out his bedroom window onto his mother’s roof, and we’d fight there. I’d have to get more aggressive if I didn’t want to be backed off the edge. Eventually, he took to swinging at me with live steel, in the hopes that that would shock me into defending myself. It worked, to an extent – I began to improve.

Dramatic Re-Enactment

Dramatic Re-Enactment

Improvement was slow, however. During one particular session, in which I had not only telegraphed my intentions, but also moved directly into the path of J.’s blade repeatedly, he threw his sword down in disgust and gave me one of the best pieces of advice that I’ve ever gotten. To wit, “Even dogs know to move away from what’s causing them pain, Tyler.” That is to say, if something pains you, either prevent it from happening or avoid it.  Or, of course, to counter-attack.

I don’t always remember or apply  this little gem, but after a statement given by our surprise company this afternoon, I thought it might be time to pass this wisdom along. It’s also time to bring it back into my life.

 

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Adventures, Drama, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

