Poetic Interlude XIV

Greetings, Gentle Reader. I’m afraid that I’m in rather a drear frame of mind. Therefore, your poems for today reflect that. Enjoy!

 
The Heavens
As featureless as Sunday Sky
My future loves lie plain:
Cloudbanks stretched to breaking point,
Anticipating rain.
It can’t compare to sunny days,
When I loved you in vain.
 
Never were the skies more clear,
Reflected in your eyes,
When you let me drink from them,
And tell you all my lies.
I mourn my past, the silly fool –
He’s been eulogized.
 
And now the clouds roll back again,
And I drink, more and more,
I wonder why it can’t remain
Like it was, before:
I sniff your shirt I stole: I sob,
And lay back on the floor.
 
Business Hours
The world has lost her edges,
As though viewed through thick glass
 Shatters – glass dust – the merest drizzle;
The clouds of a thursday that will never know light –
Implying what may or may not be the sun,
Reflecting, Refracting,
My thoughts, today.
 
Those birds are inappropriate,
And the roses will not stop their clatter.
Each part and participle
Violently object to everything.
The unceasing moo of the girl I detest
Is the only music within me today.
I stare, uncomprehending, then rise and walk away.
I am not quite alive enough to worry if she is offended.
 

©2013 by Tyler J. Yoder. All rights reserved

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Poetic Interludes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

