Post the Seventy-First: In Which I Am Hungover And Absent

Gentle Reader, I will doubtless be hungover when you read these words. It’s the day after Pride, after all. Now, I know that there’s a lot of argument in the community about how Pride is just a corporate-sponsored giant party anymore, and less a protest, a movement, a demonstration of strangeness and strength. Personally, I’m don’t see why it can’t be both. Being visible, as a queer, is often a statement and a protest all by itself. Also, cocktails are delicious.

cocktails

I don’t mean to sound flippant – that’s not quite true. I do mean to sound flippant, but I don’t mean to sound dismissive. I gave a rather more thorough run-down of my thoughts on the matter back in Post the Sixty-Fourth and I think that that sums it up nicely.

At any rate, I think that it’s important for everyone to celebrate who precisely they are, and not have to apologize for it. What’s the good of being an individual if you’re scared to be yourself? It upsets me when people lock themselves up within white picket fences, and whitewash their characters. Therefore, there is this:

Tyflower

Which a talented artist friend, Miss. R.*, photoshopped to include a crown of flowers. Whimsy is a marvelous thing, and I’m certain that Future-Tyler – the hungover one on the bus – will need reminding why he thinks it’s so important that he goes to take part in the revelry, the community. More than just whimsy, individuality, and being true to oneself, Doctor. That’s why you go: Bear that flower-crown with Pride.

*********

*A note about R. – she is a talented artist. Photoshopping flower-crowns is not her artistry in action, she had just spent an entire day doing it and I wanted one for the blog. I *really* wanted to get permission to link to some of her work here, or at least to be able to send you in the direction to contact her, but she’s in the middle of moving just at the moment, and I didn’t want to disturb her. So. Perhaps I’ll be able to do that in the future.

 

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Adventures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

