Poetic Interlude XXIII

For Mrs. Capere

Friends and Family gathered there,
Assembled in the park –
An artificial waterfall,
The sunset growing dark,
The bridal pair approaching me,
Each heart a growing spark.

“Friends and Family, we are here,”
I choked the sermon out,
And as you each produced your rings,
As solemnly you vowed,
I kept my tears on ice, my dear,
Too pure to be allowed.

Friends and Family watched you kiss;
I watched a beam of light
Lit upon your mother’s face,
And everything was right.
Happy wedding day, my dear.
Your future’s looking bright.

©2013 by Tyler J. Yoder. All rights reserved

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Poetic Interludes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

