Post the Hundred-and-Tenth: Ukulele

Gentle Reader, it is a well known fact that I make terrible decisions*. It’s coming along, but I find that spur of the moment decisions based on whims can lead to a lot of fulfillment and creativity. Also, wine and song can lead to some very odd whims indeed.

Drunk Facebook Tuesday is a long standing tradition of mine. It isn’t just about drinking and social media, though; I like to post some sort of philosophical quandary, or interesting social phenomenon and watch the sparks fly. I also seek out friends, who I know will have some interesting arguments or debates roaring on, and join in. It’s a lot of fun. That, in conjunction with Fancy-Time – every night at seven p.m. sharp – led to scenes like this§:

Halloween6

How does this tie into ukuleles? Well, I’m sure you’re aware that ukes and uke covers of songs have exploded all over the internet in the last few years. If you’ve missed out, click on over to Youtube and search for “Ukulele Covers.” You’ll be inundated with hipster girls. I’ll wait.

Uke

See? Everywhere. I think that one in five of my vast acquaintance owns a ukulele. Well, one Drunk Facebook Tuesday, after copious amounts of crisp reisling,  I was listening to songs on ukulele, and happened to stumble across Ukulele Anthem, by Amanda Palmer (of course). There’s a line – “They’re only $19.95 – that isn’t lots of money” – and I couldn’t believe an instrument could possibly be so cheap. I dashed to Amazon straightaway, and my thought process went like this:

Damn. They are only $19.95.

They come in black? Oooh.

Did she just say vibrator? I need to listen to this song again.

Well, that’s the end of the first bottle. Corkscrew? Corkscrew. There we go.

FREE SHIPPING? Where’s my damned wallet?

Uke2

The next two weeks were agony. All I could talk about were the songs I was going to learn, how I’ve never played a stringed instrument before, how I was going to bring it everywhere with me, and on and on.  I rhapsodized over names, and how I couldn’t possibly choose until I’d met her. I held forth at great length on how difficult I was finding tablature compared to standard notation. In short, I was insufferable.

When it finally arrived, Chordelia won my heart. I did nothing but play for days at a time, much to Ex-Husband’s displeasure. I didn’t get very good at it, but playing came to be a very soothing thing for me, able to calm me when I’m in hysterics or the chokehold of panic. I have to say that my Ukulele is the best present that Drunk-Tyler ever got me.

*********

*For some reason, this seems to involving drinking less wine. Who knew?

§ The question involved that evening involved Feminism, and also involved me vacuuming in high heels and pearls.

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Drama and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

