Post the Hundred-and-Thirtieth: Trusting to Providence

Gentle Reader, this is a post I’ve been wanting to write for a little while. It’s about one of the guiding principles of my life, a creed I’ve always followed, and it’s a little complicated to explain… correctly.  Quite a few people judge me harshly because of it. I can only assume that, since it lifts a lot of the constraints of society, they’re insanely jealous. Or else it sounds lazy and ungrateful and silly, when really, it’s none of those things.

Providence1

I trust to Providence to look after me. When I don’t just blithely trust the universe, that’s when I have the hardest time getting by, making it from day-to-day. When I do trust the universe, then incredible, amazing things fall into my lap.

These incredible, amazing things can be things like a job – every job I’ve ever had was the result of random happenstance rather than diligent searching – or friends who are willing to support me while I try to put my life back together – or else they can be actual things, like vintage silk kimonos, a set of amethyst crystal goblets, jewelry, a chaise longue. Frequently, it includes tobacco and wine.

Providence2

That’s where people take this in the wrong way – people seem to think that I think that I can just laze about and everything will be alright. Nothing could be farther from the truth! Trusting to Providence really only works if you’re working your ass off. It might not be at a traditional job, or indeed, for money – but I’ve always found that if I do my best to accomplish whatever I’m trying to accomplish, sooner or later, then it will happen.

It also helps if you give freely of whatever little you have. Usually, in some form, this will come back to you, and help you when you need help in return.

People also seem to think that because I just blindly trust and plunge forward in this giddy, uncanny, uncertain world that I don’t appreciate the things that are given to me, or the individuals who give them. Again, nothing could be farther from the truth. I am very lucky, and very grateful to everyone who has helped me over the years, to the point that I get teary-eyed over it. I appreciate each and every stroke of luck, and every gift freely given. I am deeply indebted to the residents of Teaberry, who have put a roof over my head for the last year and more. Just because I trust people, the world, to be kind, doesn’t mean that each example doesn’t strike me to the core.

Each little gig, each little side-job, each purchase of my book – I am deeply thankful for. I am thankful for the little luxuries that people and life throw my way. I am ridiculously thankful for the opportunities that have come my way, my friends who are making them possible, and my grand, mysterious, ridiculous family tree who have made me who I am and charged me to carry on their legacy.I am thankful for the Internet which has made so many deep friendships possible, and I am thankful for you, Gentle Reader.

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

