Post the Hundred-and-Thirty-Second: Friendsgiving

I hope your holiday was swell, Gentle Reader, if you’re American. If you’re not – well, I hope you had a decent Thursday, and hearing all about America’s self-obsession. I also hope you’re not punishing yourself by going out shopping today. I’m not, but by the time you read these words, I’ll be right in the thick of the crowd, travelling by bus to Ms. Capere’s place, Tranquility Base.

Why would I dare such a thing, on this, the most crowded, unpleasant day to be in public? Because of friendship. Friendship is magic, you know.

As I’m sure you’ve guessed, the Friday after Thanksgiving is traditionally Friendsgiving at Ms. Capere’s. It’s exactly what it sounds like, and it’s something I’m rather thankful for, myself. It’s a great way to catch up with those whose busy lives might keep them apart, and to destress, unwind, after a typically fraught family function. Miss Spectacular will be there, and Mr. Darling, and all sorts of old friends. I’m sure I’ll have a story or six to tell by the end of the night. I’d rather celebrate friendship, fidelity, than fiduciary folderol any day, anyway.

Thank you for sticking around, Gentle Reader. I’m glad we’ve gotten to know each other this last year. On this Friends giving, I’m thankful for you.

About Ty DeLyte

Madame DeLyte has suffered a grave disappointment - YET AGAIN - and still believes that freedom, beauty, and truth are what's valuable, rather than vulgar cash. He'd add love to that list - but, well, what can he say about love?
This entry was posted in Adventures, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

